United States To Place Visa Restriction On Seven Countries Including Nigeria


The United States is planning to place rigid travel restrictions on Nigerians aiming to enter America.

Following the Wall Street Journal reports; apart from Nigeria, other countries to be affected by the new policy include Eritrea, Belarus, Myanmar, Kyrgyzstan, Sudan and Tanzania.

According to officials; The countries will not face blanket bans on travel to the United States but could have restrictions placed on specific types of visas such as business or visitor visas, administration.

The Wall Street Journal reports that some countries could be banned from participating in the diversity visa lottery program, which awards green cards to people in countries with low levels of immigration to the United States.

The President United States “Donald Trump” has called for an end to that program, saying it lets undesirable people into the United States.

The Department of Homeland Security didn’t respond to request for comment while the State Department also declined to comment on the issue. The administration has said its policy restricting travel is necessary to prevent potential acts of terrorism, as countries on the list don’t adequately inspect their travellers to America.


About Author

Leave A Reply