The House Of Representatives Reject Bill Seeking Six-year Single Term For Presidents, Governors In Nigeria.


The House of Representatives has discarded a bill seeking to provide a single term of six years for the president and governors in Nigeria. 

The bill which was sponsored by John Dyegh from Benue State, seeks to also provide for an unlimited tenure of six years for members of the National Assembly and state Houses of Assemblies.

The idea was rejected on Tuesday 17th December, 20119 at plenary. During the debate on the bill, most lawmakers kicked against it, arguing that there was nothing wrong with the system Nigeria currently operates.

But a few lawmakers together with Sergius Ogun from Edo State argued that it would save the country the funds used to conduct elections every four years.

He alleged, “This bill intends to also save money being spent on elections for second term. It will save this country and our democracy.” Henry Archibong from Akwa Ibom State said the main focus should be on improving Nigeria’s electoral process and not on the number of years an elected officer stays in office.

He asked, “How can we make electoral processes and elections credible and less expensive?

It is the main issue we should address and not the number of terms. Haruna Bello from Kano State kicked against the bill as well, saying it will fuel the speculation of tenure extension for President Muhammadu Buhari. He added that, there is a speculation for tenure extension for the President. Bringing this motion now will make our adversaries think this is an attempt to achieve that.

By the time you make a room for six years, you will shut down the door for consideration of someone’s term after four years. The four (4) years should be maintained.

The bill was consequently voted against when the deputy speaker, Idris Wase presided over the session and then put it up for vote for second evaluation.


About Author

Leave A Reply